Penn State
Lewis Katz Building, University Park, PA
twitter facebook linkedin Instagram Google+ webmail

H. Jesse Arnelle re-elected to Penn State Board of Trustees

University alumni recently re-elected incumbent H. Jesse Arnelle ’62 to serve another three-year term on the Penn State University’s Board of Trustees beginning July 1, 2011. Arnelle was first elected to the Board of Trustees by the alumni for a three-year term beginning July 1, 1969, and was re-elected for succeeding terms. He served as vice president of the board from 1993 through 1995, and president of the board in 1996 and 1997.

In September 1997, Arnelle retired as senior partner with the civil litigation and public finance law firm of Arnelle & Hastie and later as counsel to the firm of Womble, Carlyle, Sandridge and Rice. He has served as a commissioner of the San Francisco Redevelopment Agency and as an official attaché to the 1984 Summer Olympic Games. A 1955 graduate of Penn State in political science, Arnelle received his LL.B. from The Dickinson School of Law in 1962, following service as an Air Force officer.

A life member of the Penn State Alumni Association, Laurel Circle, President's Advisory Council and President's Club, he's also a founding member of the Renaissance Fund, providing thousands of student scholarships since 1969. As an undergraduate, he was elected all-University student body president, was a member of Lion's Paw, and was an All-American in basketball and an All-American honorable mention in football. In 1995, he received an honorary doctor of laws degree from The Dickinson School of Law, and in June 2000 he was honored with the Lion's Paw Award from Penn State.

Penn State's Board of Trustees is composed of six members appointed by the governor, nine members elected by alumni and six members each elected by agricultural societies and by the board representing business and industry endeavors. In addition, five members are ex-officio by right of their office, including Gov. Thomas W. Corbett Jr.; Penn State President Graham B. Spanier; acting Secretary of Agriculture George D. Greig; acting Secretary of Education Ronald J. Tomalis and acting Secretary of Conservation and Natural Resources Richard J. Allan.

Share this story